Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research has proven that both active and passive smoking is harmful for human health. Consequently, many believe that smoking in public places should be prohibited. Although there are convincing arguments on both sides, I strongly believe that no one should be allowed to smoke in a public place. One argument in favour of allowing people to smoke everywhere is that it is an individual's right to live as per his aspirations. They argue that banning smoking violates their fundamental right to have a free life. If smoking is banned in public places, such people feel incarcerated in their own neighbourhoods. Moreover, for many people, smoking with friends in a public place is the best way to socialise and enjoy each other's company. If such a ban is imposed, many smokers believe they will feel isolated and suffer negative psychological effects. However, there are many arguments in favour of imposing a ban on smoking in places where people gather in large numbers. Firstly, it will benefit the well-being of those who don't smoke. It is well established that passive smoking is as deleterious to health as active smoking. Therefore, it is government's responsibility to protect the well-being of those who choose not to smoke. Secondly, As people find it difficult to smoke where ever they want to, the number of active smokers will decrease. Such drop will immensely improve the fitness of the public and reduce undue financial burden on smokers, who otherwise have to spend money on this habit. Finally, prohibiting smoking at public locations will protect the children. These young minds can often idealise those who proudly smoke while hanging out with friends. Thus, If such exhibition of smoking is banned, many children can be saved from indulging in this vice. In conclusion, It is evident that prohibiting public smoking, promotes the overall health of the community, reduces the number of smokers and protects future adults. It is imperative that government should enforce strict laws to protect the population from the negative effects of smoking.