Some children find mathematics and philosophy difficult. Some people think these subjects should be optional. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few years, mathematics and philosophy have become a common issue for many students. It is argued by some people that those courses must be an elective subject in the formal education curriculum. In my opinion, I generally disagree with this statement, however, I also believe that mastering mathematics and philosophy is not the single aspect of their success in the future. At primary schools, students should be taught mathematics and philosophical thinking by their teachers since those are fundamental subjects. If they did not learn the basic, it would be difficult for them to be successful in other fields. For instance, even though mastering algebra seems undervalued for some successful musicians in their childhood days, but still it would be benefited by knowing the principal, unless they would not understand the profit-loss at their business albums. Similarly, the knowledge of philosophy builds the cognitive skills, making them learn about questioning ideas and discovering the facts. Admittedly, studying fundamental courses such as mathematics and philosophy is crucial. On the other hand, having advanced skills in mathematics and philosophy is not a single way to achieve success in your life. Education curriculum should have a balance of hard skills and soft skills subjects. Many people think that students who get high score in hard skill aspects such as math will guarantee that they will be more successful than other students in the future. Consequently, some parents push their children to study hard in math to get high rank. They forget that soft skills also have a huge influence on people’s successful journey such as a communication skill. For example, people who want to be a successful math professor, they also should have good communication skills to present their ideas. In conclusion, I believe that studying fundamental subjects, including mathematics and philosophy is necessary; so, these subjects should be mandatory in schools even though this is not the single key to achieve success. Academic curriculum should consider both hard skills subject and soft skill subjects.