Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

These days, some people believe children should be able to choose not to be taught topics they find difficult to learn. In this essay, I will explain why I agree that many subjects, like mathematics and philosophy, in spite of being an issue for many, should be compulsory. The main reason for studying a broad spectrum of subjects is that it enhances our knowledge of future careers and job opportunities. For instance, if students opted not to have mathematics or philosophy classes, they will never know that these subjects exist and are, valuable parts of highly in-demand careers in the current job market. To illustrate, mathematics is essential in business school and architecture; while philosophy is a core subject in psychology, medicine, and politics. Another noticeable advantage of studying difficult subjects at school is that they challenge our intelligence and make us work harder. In like manner, when children study thoroughly and conscientiously to pass hard exams, they can prove to themselves and others that anything is possible. For example, if a teenager struggles with algebra tests at school, he will be highly motivated to learn this content and to study really hard to pass these and prove, not only his self, but also to parents that he is able to do that and much more. In conclusion, in my opinion, whereas there are some subjects that are usually believed to be hard to pass, these are dramatically important and should be compulsory. Firstly, to develop a wider perspective of the world and ultimately to motivate us to make an extra effort to overcome hard obstacles.