Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that the prime aim of university discipline is to secure employment for the students, whereas others think higher education offers many other advantages for both students and the community. This essay will discuss both points of view, and I shall argue that a university degree is beneficial in a variety of ways. On the one hand, people believe that the only purpose of a higher qualification is to help the graduate get a better job. They argue that a university degree increases the chances of finding the right work. Nowadays, many organisations are looking for young recruits with proper degrees. In other words, they only want qualified personnel. For example, only someone with an MBA can apply for a management post. In this way, having higher literacy ensures the desired employment. Moreover, students can avail of several career counselling sessions in educational institutions. Such sessions help students find the right line of work, which is congruent with their aspirations. On the other hand, I shall argue that while helping the student secure a job is one of the advantages of having a good qualification, there are wider benefits for the entire society. First, a country with a better level of education prospers more than others. This is because as the population attains better education, it becomes more productive. For example, China used to be a poor country in the 1960s. The Chinese government then invested in better education of its people, and resultantly, China prospered to a level that now it boasts World's third -largest economy. Second, higher education lifts the moral values of the whole community. The society becomes more disciplined, the crime rate drops and overall civic sense improve. For instance, it is a common observation that the neighbourhoods with a high literacy rate have a proportionately low crime rate and inhabitants of the area enjoy a peaceful life. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear that university education offers far-reaching benefits for everyone. The whole country prospers, people respect the law, and the crime rate drops. It is recommended that the government should ensure good quality education for all.