Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Employers intend to ask personal report from the people who are applying for jobs, which, according to some people, may be relevant and useful while others disagree with this opinion. I believe, personal information is imperative to fulfil an employer’s criteria. Therefore, this essay shall discuss both the views with relevant examples. Asking for personal details during the interview depicts that an employer is willing to understand the kind of a person. By knowing the hobbies and interests of an interviewee, an employer can make out that one might be able to adjust in the company’s environment or not. Additionally, some jobs demand for work beyond the office hours. In that case, an employer prefers people who are unmarried and do not have family commitments. Therefore, at the time of the interview, they ask the interviewee that whether one is married or single. Moreover, some employers also inquire about the location of the interviewee, this is because they are concerned about one’s mode of travel which is fundamental in the sales and marketing jobs. On the other hand, asking for personal data cannot always be useful. For instance, an employer’s will not be benefitted, if a person who got selected was single at the time of the interview but got married at a later stage. So, one cannot fulfil the requirement of working for late hours. Moreover, if a person moved to another location and takes a longer time to reach the office, an employer’s motive remained unaccountable. At last, in my opinion, asking for personal information is paramount in order to enhance the productivity of a company.