Some think we should take more measures to deal with criminals. However, others think that there is not much we can do to curb law breaking. Discuss both views and give opinion

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Although many people believe that the best way to tackle this is to take more measures to deal with criminals, others are of the opinion that This is not very effective. On the one hand, we can enact and improve many new measures to cope with the increasing number of crimes. For example, putting crime in jail for longer periods is one of the most effective ways because spending a long time in prison provides an opportunity for the prison services to rehabilitate a prisoner. For example, someone who has committed a serious offence such as rape will need a long time in prison in order to be sure they can be re-educated not to re-offend. In addition to this, longer prison sentences will act as a deterrent for someone who is thinking of committing a crime. On the other hand, despite introducing more measures to deal with crimes, there are still many limitations in enforcing them. For example, in Brazil, slums still exist and this is also the largest drug outlet in South America with many illegal businesses but covered by police and law organizations. Therefore, even though more penalties are issued, it is useless when even law enforcement people violate the law. In addition, the government can focus resources on the causes of crime, which will lead to fewer crimes in the future than just issuing more measures without regard to the outcome. In conclusion, many countries have strict legal system, but crime has continued to increase throughout the world, so it is clear that this is not completely effective. So, I think we should pay more attention to the quality of the legal system than the number of laws enacted.