Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, there has been a growing tendency towards self-employment all over the world. In this essay, I will analyze some main reasons for this trend, as well as examine its drawbacks. One of the reasons that could explain why more people are choosing to be self-employed nowadays is that most people believe that entrepreneurs are likely to have better income potential. It is true that traditionally employed workers usually receive fixed salaries for their positions while self-employed individuals can gain higher income upon the development of their business. Another possible reason is the flexibility of deciding when and where to work. People who are self-employed can have more chances to set their own working hours and have the freedom to choose their workplace. As they can have control over their time, they will have more chances to cultivate other skills which benefit their personal growth. On the other hand, self-employment brings about some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. First of all, once people have become self-employed, they would receive unsteady pay and lack financial security. In fact, their income might experience fluctuations, depending on their workload and other expenses to run their business. Moreover, self-employment often requires extra working hours. Since people working for themselves handle many things ranging from marketing and sales to financial management and personnel administration, they have to work longer and more irregular hours than those who are not self-employed. Therefore, they will spend less time with family and friends, or have difficulty in achieving a healthy work-life balance. In conclusion, being self-employed may have some certain merits in terms of earnings potential and working flexibility; however, the downsides of this trend should be considered carefully.