Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and paintings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments have a finite amount of revenue available to be spent on various social services. Many people are of the opinion that public services should get more investment from governments rather than arts like music and paintings. I am not in agreement with such a recommendation. Public services, namely education, health care and transportation are essential services that are needed in every modern society. Free education and health care and good public transportation have a significant positive impact on the quality of life for the members of that society. However, these services require significant monetary support from the governments. For example, In the UK, National Health Services takes up thirty percent of government revenue every year. Also, costs for these services are increasing every year, this in turn results in governments having to find additional sources of revenue that could be re-directed to public services. But, taking funding away from arts to support public services is not the solution. Arts, like music and paintings, do play a significant role in the public as well. Firstly, they are representative of our cultural identity and heritage. For instance, Novels written by Jane Austin provide a view into English culture of her period. Secondly, it provides an avenue for people to relax and stimulates their mind. Finally, we are the caretakers of arts that were passed on to us by our forefathers and should hand them over to the future generations so that they will also have a cultural identity. In Conclusion, both public services and arts are key pillars of a modern society and an effort should be made to ensure that both of these are maintained to the best possible extent.