In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

It is often argued whether people in their old age should stay in retirement homes or with their families. It is common in many communities, for the elderly to stay in retirement homes. I don’t side with this view as I believe the elderly are an asset to the family; and it’s time for younger members to express their sense of gratitude in morbid times. Those who agree with the opinion justify by stating that they do not have sufficient time to care for the elderly while shuffling between jobs and upbringing of the children. Furthermore, it significantly impacts their relaxation time and in turn leads to general fatigue and unproductive work in the office. Thus, they find it more convenient to send regular money to the old age homes coupled with regular visits. On the other hand, many people believe having elderly people in the house is a bliss and blessing. In several South Asian countries, old people are considered next to God and enormously respected. Children who grow up with their grandparents are more likely to appreciate and value the emotions of love, respect and kindness. Additionally, Grandparents help with the upbringing of children, and pass on their wisdom accumulated with years of experience. Children grow up in a loving environment where they are well taken care of, and the younger members can focus on their work and help feed the family. Clearly, it’s a win-win for all the members of the family. To conclude, I believe having elderly people in the home is a great way of learning and bonding within the family. Children can learn from their life and work experiences and in turn give them love and respect.