Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about what measures should be taken to control traffic collisions and better road systems. In my view, both punishments and other measures can be used to make our roadways safer. On the one hand, stringent punishments can undoubtedly encourage people to drive more carefully. Penalties for dangerous drivers can serve as a deterrent that will stop them from causing or repeating the offence. There are various types of driving penalties spanning small fines, license suspension, a ban on driving, or even a sentence to imprisonment, which depend on negative consequences their offence would trigger. Thus, strict penalties are believed to have a central role in making drivers more disciplined and alert when driving. On the other hand, I believe that roadway safety can be improved by implementing other practices that do not punish drivers. Firstly, governments should launch a number of campaigns that can raise public awareness of the importance of driving with safety, and disastrous consequences probably caused by their recklessness. Additionally, more demanding driving tests should be completed for granting a driver's license. Secondly, more road signs should be added to guide and warn people about speed bumps, road bends, or places where vehicle accidents are on the cards. Finally, national and regional authorities can take action by investing in public transportation, or encourage people to use bicycles for their commutes that will reduce the use of private means of travel, such as automobiles and motorbikes. In Vietnam, most road accidents happen among cars, by limiting the demands for it can make a difference. Aside from punishments, those above measures can be used for better roadway safety. In conclusion, I believe that strict punishments and other measures, such as education, paying more heed to road signs, and developing the public transportation system, can be expedited to make our road system safer.