Some people believe that only employees who have worked at a company for a long time deserve to be promoted to a higher position. What is your opinion about this?

A few people think that only specific employees who have shown longevity at their workplaces should be promoted further. While it's important to be stable in a professional institution, it is unlikely that an employer would only seek stability and not the quality of work one delivers as a criterion to give an appraisal. In my opinion, a promotion depends on multiple factors and all of them should be met whilst considering a promotion. Stability is one of the many qualities an employer looks in its employee whilst promoting a member of the staff. Firstly, an employee who's been in the system for over a couple of years knows its employees which help churn trial out faster. Secondly, the worker is well versed with the job and is proficient at it. For example, there are companies which guarantee a 20% hike in remuneration when having spent more than 2 years in a company. It's key for someone to spend time in a place to grow and gain expertise in it. However, it's not the only thing required to get promoted. Quality of task is also equally important. Moreover, coming from a different field brings in a different set of skills to the table which prove beneficial at times. For example, professionals from Software companies are now moving to writing copies of advertisements from a fresh and valued perspective. Being diverse is valued and is equally required. To summarise, staying in one place for a longer time is important to grow and is preferred, but having more than one skill is also an essential quality expected from recruits. In my opinion, there should be a proportionate balance of qualities.