Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Nowadays, the problem of increasing crime rates is becoming more and more urgent. Overall, there are many reasons for it - poverty, psychological problems, difficult childhood, addiction problems, as well as social hardship and negative environmental conditions. From my point of view, to solve these problems, the government should focus on preventing the root causes - helping difficult teenagers, pay more attention to the environment, help with employment and socializing people, as well as pay more attention to people suffering from addictions. One of the most important and non-obvious causes of crime is the worst environment. For instance, there is an interesting study - the broken windows theory, formed by American sociologists and its main idea that if one window is broken into a building for a long time, then after a while not a single whole window will remain in the house. After several experiments in America, they found that disorder and minor violations on the street led to more serious crimes. Therefore, an unhealthy surroundings provoke residents to commit crimes. Another important reason for the growth of crime is drug addiction. For example, according to the statistics, Russia has serious problems with one of the most dangerous drugs - heroin. Definitely, this is one of the main reasons for robberies and murders in an attempt to get the next dose because these people cannot control themselves. In the past year, the state of this country decided to introduce a new law, according to which drug addicts individuals will not be able to work in hazardous industries and will lose their driver's licenses. In conclusion, I would like to stress that usually harsh punishments are not an effective method. It is much more important to try to understand the root causes and help people not become drug-addicted and unemployed than trying to intimidate. Looking towards the future, it is no doubt a given that in alignment with the current course, authorities should create a healthy surroundings, support their citizens, as well as tightly control the illegal market and provide punishment for dealers can help reduce the number of crimes.