Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

People have different views on how video games can affect players. While I agree that such games can positively affect users, I believe that they are more likely to have detrimental effects. On the one hand, computer games can be useful in entertainment and education. With regard to entertainment, gamers can be mentally transported to a virtual world, which seems more adventurous and exciting than their reality; thus, that land of fantasy can provide them with a hiatus from the feelings of stress and boredom caused by their repeated lives and work. Electronic games can encourage players' imagination and creativity from an educational aspect, which would earn them better performances outside of the gaming context. For example, virtual games introduced in some schools in Vietnam aim to stimulate a specific brain's part called the frontal cortex, which plays a vital role in contributing to creative thinking through a series of movements and animation in games. Furthermore, a wide variety of simulation games programmed with different content, users can get the experience of solving puzzles set in games, and that can sharpen their critical thinking and problem-solving skills, all of which are socially necessary. However, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh these benefits. On an individual level, playing electronic games may give rise to leading a deteriorated lifestyle. These games are designed to lure users and get them addicted to targets and rewards from conquerable levels to hard-won ones. Consequently, players tend to be engrossed in such a virtual world without paying heed to their work or study. Moreover, if they let computer games consume an inordinate amount of time, there may not be any room for outdoor activities or other leisure pursuits; thus, this trend can trigger a number of severe health issues among users, such as insomnia, obesity, and even diabetes. Therefore, the more people are addicted to video games, the less physically and psychologically competent they are. In conclusion, I believe that the adverse effects of electronic games on users outweigh the benefits they can bring.