It is believed that there is a negative impact of tourism on tourist spots which is majorly due to the behaviour of people who visit there. Why do you think that people behave badly when they visit some places? What measures can be taken to resolve this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The tourism industry is on the rise thanks to cheap flights and accommodations, but along with that has brought many drawbacks. Due to the increase in tourists behaving rowdily in public spots, has created a bad image for foreigners. This essay will discuss the problems related to tourism and the steps that can be implemented to tackle the issues. Firstly, one of the reasons why tourism is having a negative impact is due to consumption of alcohol by tourists. For example, many holidaymakers under the ethanol influence behave disorderly and therefore, cause distress to local citizens and damage to historical monuments. If foreigners continued to act this way on their holidays, this will only create a negative image and in the future, most countries will not welcome tourists to their nations. Secondly, in regards to the sorting out the issues, tourists should be educated when they arrive in the country. For instance, airport authorities can hand out information booklets on arrival and make it clear that misconduct will not be tolerated. Finally, from my experience when I visited an island called St.Kitts and Nevis, they had massive notice boards explaining that anyone misbehaving at tourist sites will be fined and deported. This was a great way to let the people entering a new country know that the consequences for misconduct are severe, and tourists will think twice before acting badly. To conclude, some tourists do not act accordingly when they travel abroad. In order to spread awareness, governments should educate and take harsh actions against individuals who break the rules.