“Prevention is better than cure.” Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that taking appropriate measures to prevent a disease is imperative than spending money on curing health issues. I partially agree with this viewpoint and I shall substantiate my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs with relevant examples. Firstly, it is important to have a healthy population and the government must take the necessary steps to advocate various campaigns promoting fitness and well-being of people. With the technological advancements most of us follow a sedentary lifestyle due to which people are prone to various illnesses at a very young age. For Instance: In India, according to a recent survey conducted in Regional Cancer Centre, it was reported that there has been a drastic increase in cancer patients in the last couple of years and the government has allocated huge funds for the treatment. Hence it is important to create public awareness and conduct health classes educating and inspiring them to lead a healthier life. However, due to some inevitable factors, many individuals suffer from severe illness. The authorities must take responsibilities and provide them the necessary treatment and help them fight and overcome the disease. For Instance: Even non-smokers are prone to lung cancer. Hence authorities should ensure that even the sick people must be provided with the best hospitals and medicine otherwise many of our people might succumb to these severe diseases. To conclude, I believe that the government must allocate equal funds for both treatment and cure of illnesses as we cannot ignore the sick people and they must be provided adequate medicine.