Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals or clean water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Forests are an important natural resource. Not only do they provide a habitat for millions of species of plants and animals to survive, but also, sustain human life by providing a myriad of different resources. Therefore, it is paramount that jungles and rainforests be saved from disappearing. The recent hike in global warming and loss of soil to erosion and their relation with the destruction of forests, further strengthens this point of view. To begin with, the last few decades have seen a massive increase in land reclamation activities, at the cost of diminishing woodlands which are an important element for filtering out pollution from the environment. Consequently, the rise in reclaiming ground from forests has led to an increase in pollution levels, which has in turn produced global warming phenomenon. This has adversely affected the lives of millions of human beings as the polar ice caps melt and increased sea levels making many coastal areas inhabitable. Moreover, cutting down of mangroves around the river banks, swamps and lakes has led to the problem of soil erosion. As a result, rivers have to change paths, changing the landscape drastically and causing mass migrations of humans and animal species alike, which disturbs the entire ecosystem as resources in one part of the world get strained. One such instance happened recently in the Atabad region of Pakistan, where cutting down of forests, lead to massive landslides, blocking the path of a river and forming a lake. Thousands of houses drowned overnight into the lake, leaving millions homeless. Hence, destroying forests around river banks also leads to severe effects on human and animal lives alike. To summarize, jungles, rainforests, and woodlands need to be protected. Failure to do so has deadly effects on the habitability of various regions, for both humans and wildlife alike. The recent surge in pollution levels and drastic changes in landscapes caused by the destruction of forests is proof enough of the negative effects of cutting down forests.