Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about the lack of sleep?

People lead an extremely industrious life nowadays and do not realise the importance of sound sleep. Healing and repairing of any internal wear and tear takes place when one rests. Nowadays, several folks express that they do not get sufficient sleep. This essay will examine its consequences and will also suggest some remedies for the same. To commence with, excessive intake of caffeine or alcohol, taking sleep for granted by using gadgets, prolonged work shifts, stress and several other factors cause sleep deprivation that gives rise to numerous health issues. Science links poor slumber with myriad ailments. Firstly, it causes a lack of both long and short-term memory and detrimentally affects one’s concentration and ability to think. Secondly, it makes people moody, short-tempered and sometimes anxious. Thirdly, lack of sleep also weakens the immune system and makes one more prone to catching infections like flu or a common cold. Moreover, it also weakens sex drive, causes hypertension and increases the risks of cardiac and renal failure. Last but not the least, the insomniac tend to put on more weight as they overeat. However, this problem can be dealt with by taking some discreet measures. First of all, masses should make sleep a priority and keep a regular schedule to get a 7-9 hour sleep time. Moreover, they can try to make up for a bad night’s sleep by taking a short nap in the noon. In addition, relaxing activities like reading, a warm shower before bedtime, stretching exercises and meditation can also improve the quality of snooze. Lastly, individuals must turn off all electronics before going to bed to avoid any temptations or disturbance. To epitomise, dozing indeed plays an indispensable role in assuring the overall well-being of mortals as it charges up our batteries for the next day to perform everyday tasks with vigour and presence of mind. It’s well said by someone that “A night without dreams and sleep is like a cupcake without frosting”.