Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

The fast-paced lifestyle and the technological tools of today have radically transformed the sleeping patterns of most of the people in society. Often, many individuals have raised concern of not being able to get adequate sleep. As a result, this has led to consequences not only in their performance, but also in their relationships with others. Nonetheless, if corrective measures are taken proactively, this problem can be tackled easily. One of the most significant issues arising out of lack of sleep is the overall attitude change in a person's behaviour. The human body has been designed to function well, only after periods of adequate rest. However, if this innate need is not fulfilled, one tends to become anxious, irritable and short-tempered. In addition, the brain turns foggy, which further leads to lower concentration levels. If overlooked for long periods of time, devouring the body of sleep can have hazardous health-related issues in an individual. For instance, according to experts, resident doctors working long overnight shifts, as well as pilots on long-haul flights are recommended to have proper shut-eye time to rejuvenate. The immediate possible solution to adjust back to normal sleep levels is to drastically bring down the time spent on electronic device screens. Clearly, many scientists suggest switching off the glaring LED screens at least two hours before bedtime. Not only do these devices emanate blue light, causing eyestrain, especially in the evenings, but correspondingly disturb the natural circadian rhythm. Additionally, having ambient-surround lighting will furthermore assist the body to acclimatize to a slow down the pace. For example, a recent study published in the Science Journal demonstrated that many top executives were able to exceptionally improve their performance in demanding roles, just by normalizing their natural circadian sleep cycle. To sum up, the rushed-up routines along with the pervasive use of technology has indeed played havoc on our sleep quota. However, the harmful effects arising out of improper sleep can be addressed well-in-time by making small changes to one's daily activities.