Many parents are concerned about the violent computer games or movies or leisure activities. How can this impact children ? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the present era, the technological advancements have prominently influenced the lifestyle of children, they are addicted to online gaming or movies which include violent content and this has been a growing concern for many parents. In this essay I will determine the impact of viewing violent content and also elucidate solutions for the same. Firstly, Unlike in the past, most of the kids follow a sedentary lifestyle and they are often seen glued to their seats watching movies or television programmes. Some of them even engage in violent leisure activities. According to a recent research, it was found out that the behaviour of the children is negatively affected by watching heinous crimes or playing dangerous games. For Instance, It was reported that students viewing programmes like WWE always have the tendency to engage in fights. This is because children always imitate behaviour. Hence, in the long run they start to idolise the bad characters and behave inappropriately. Furthermore, In the long run, it starts to affect their mental health and they tend to develop bad relationships with their peers and could also end up committing crimes like vandalism, burglary etc. Parents must be very vigilant and also keep track of what their kids do in their leisure time. They must encourage them to read books and play games like crosswords or puzzles which will enhance their cognitive skills and also help them academically. For Example, In a recent survey conducted in schools it was found that the children who participate in various extra-curricular activities like sports and arts, are also able to excel in academics. To conclude, Although the technology has advanced and kids prefer to play games parents must also keep a close watch on their kids and encourage them to indulge in activities which will enhance their learning ability and knowledge.