Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or, is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Last decades have witnessed tremendous economic development; however, the gap between the richest and poorest nations remains considerable. Some people argue that the wealthy nations should assist the undeveloped nations with food and education. Alternatively, others believe it is best for the leaders of the poorer nations to solve their countries problems on their own. It cannot be denied that assistance to a poor country from a wealthy one could benefit both countries. For instance, providing aid might lead to better trade and diplomatic relationships. As a matter of fact, wealthy nations may benefit from access to natural resources, attractive investment opportunities, or even allies in security issues. Apart from being beneficial, wealthy nations should help because many owe their wealthy to poorer nations from past exploitation, slavery, and colonialism. Needless to say, returning some wealth back to the countries it was stolen from would be beneficial and the right thing to do. In contrast, there are people who believe that poorer nations should solve their own problems. They point out that a poorer nation should avoid interference from wealthy nations because they must maintain independence. For example, a poor nation may lose th freedom to make some decisions and grow to depend on the aid they receive. Some argue that aid can lead to exploitation and wealthy nations may take advantage access to resources or use the threat of stopping aid as a way to gain power. In conclusion, arguments can be made that assistance from wealthy nation could be mutually beneficial as well as appropriate justice for past acts. However, it may also be said that poorer nations would benefit most from acting independently and not being in debt to wealthier nations. In my view, poorer nations should seek out aid because it may be the best chance for them to develop and catch up with more advanced nations.