Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

An ongoing debate has been in the market from a long time, that pivots around whether creative activities help develop better skills in a child. Some believe that extra-curricular activities develop better competency. This essay will discuss both such aspects and provide relevant references to support the argument. “Major development of human brain occurs in early years”, this has been established scientifically long time ago. Parents often have a preconception, that offering exposure to educational projects like reading, speaking will be more advantageous for their offspring. However, there are certain folks who believe the exact opposite. I completely support the notion of promoting extra-curricular activities in early childhood days will make the child, a kinaesthetic learner, whose experiences will be driven by performance, thus will open a doorway to try new things. None the less, activities like painting, pottery, music and many more, will not only help in developing more ideas but connecting with students of similar mind sets, thereby enabling the kids for building networks independently. A survey conducted by The New York University in early 2000s states that the children, who were unveiled to creative hobbies, develop better thought process, and those kids were finer at adapting changes as compared to the ones, who were more into academic related activities from the very beginning, turned out to be shy, introverts. I completely support the idea of promoting non-conventional ways of learning, as it will eventually help in development of prefrontal cortex of child’s brain. To conclude, People should consider their children’s choice before making up any decision and promote their kids liking rather than their own to help infants grow intellectually.