Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The proliferation of demand for private cars, which has led to immense congestions in my cities all over the world can be undeniable. The authorities should take steps to deter citizens from private car possessions whilst making alternative solutions. Recent years stands witness to the population explosion which has also produced tremendous business potential in cities. This growth has accelerated migration from rural to urban areas which further augmented populations in urban areas. At the same time, governments could not keep up with this exponential growth in terms of public transport. Increase in populations coupled with lack of public transport made sure that the car market is booming. It saw the ascension of many giant automotive companies who with financial clouts allured the customers with attractive discounts and easy loans. Henceforth, with more citizens predisposing to buy new cars, it engenders the condition where traffic gridlocks rise and forming a cycle. In addition, the lifestyle domain of families also constitutes to transport routines. In association with family formations, their employment type, leisure preference, cohabitation, spatial locations of their home/work and their daily travel routine are factors to the increasing car ownership in cities. Therefore, the above statement is correct as all these elements coincide and that in metropolitan areas, traffic jams regularly occur. In hindsight, there are several actions that the regime can take to settle from this quandary. First and foremost, whilst the companies manufacture their cars, the government should establish some feasible implementations on the road for the benefits to develop any particular region sustainable in order to minimise the congestion of traffic. Secondly, they can collaborate with car companies in making autonomous cars to avoid pollution and minimizing time spent on the road. Last but not least is that related authorities should provide many alternative conveyances for the public such as trans-city buses, underground trains etc which offer preponderant, safer, more expeditious and affordable transportation facilities. As a result, people will be inclined to cull public transport rather than utilizing their own cars. Ergo, the traffic jam will substantially truncate over time. To conclude, the government can alleviate the congestion brought by cars globally by addressing the price of anarchy in the situation and planning alternate transportation schemes in the cities with better efficiency