Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children ) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that free community service should be incorporated into high school programmes and it is a great opportunity for pupils to build a good relationship with the local community. I partly agree with this idea and I will explain it in this essay. On the one hand, doing voluntary jobs such as teaching sports to younger children can have a positive impact on adolescents' personality development and can create a more friendly environment for neighbours. In other words, learning how to help others without asking payback enables teenagers to become a well-rounded person. For example, a recent study conducted in the US has shown the students who are willing to involve in community service are generally more open-minded and have high social intelligence. As a result, those qualities are the main reasons why they tend to be more successful in the work environment since they are great team players. On the other hand, there are drawbacks in doing too much community works. This is because high school students usually have to spend 8 to 12 hours in school and they might not have enough time to deal with extra work. Take Chinese high school students as an example, they have to study about seven different subjects on average and do homework after school, which can cause them approximately over 13 hours per day. In this case, compulsory services would pose too much pressure on students since it is basically impossible to balance school life and other physical work. In conclusion, community service can be beneficial to students' personal growth. However, sometimes it would probably be stressful for them. Personally, I believe that contributing to the neighbourhood would be an excellent choice as long as we put a limit on time and make sure it won't affect pupils school grades.