Many people say that cooking and eating at home is better for the individual and the family than eating out In restaurants or canteens. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the last fifty years, the number and the variety of places serving meals have been dramatically increasing in most cities in the world. Therefore, it is debated whether domestic or restaurant food should be preferred. Whilst I broadly agree that home cooking is better than dining out, I have a number of reservations about this. Without a doubt, eateries need to make their menu appealing in order to attract customers. It goes without saying that marketing strategies not always lead to healthy choices. First and foremost, a recent chemical analysis of several aliments reveals that addictive stimulants are routinely added to restaurant food and drinks. Secondly, the amount of salt and fats used by some dining facilities not only enriches the taste of their dishes, but also raises concerns to the public. For instance, it has been demonstrated that an excessively salty and fatty diet is detrimental to blood pressure and cholesterol levels. Moreover, dining out might encourage people to eat more than their needs as seen in sushi train and all-you-can-eat restaurants. Admittedly, it is quite reasonable to argue that restaurants create employment. In addition, eating out is more convenient than preparing food at home. However, the time spent for grocery shopping, cooking and cleaning can be an occasion for families to share responsibilities and time together. For example, cooking with my wife is for me one of the sweetest parts of the day. In summary, both home cooking and food facilities carry some advantages for individuals and the community. However, I am of the opinion that preparing meals at home may improve both people health and connection between family members.