Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, community development plays an indispensable role in enhancing citizen’s quality of life. It is debatable that the government must put more resource in the social aspect rather than in cultural aspect. I agree that community service should gain more money and awareness. Fulfilling people’s basic need and promoting social equality can keep the prosperity of social development, which is done by improving social aids. Firstly, a well-equipped public policy can enhance people’s living standard, and bring a positive impact to society. For instance, some social practices like a subsidy for poverty, food bank or food aids, can fulfil citizens’ basic need. According to the theory of the hierarchy of need, only if people satisfy with their basic requirement like physical needs, they can enjoy a higher level of fulfilment, which is a form of the mental aspect. Thus, a well-developed social program can safeguard human’s basic need, that is essential for personal development. Secondly, investing in social welfare can achieve social harmony, that further boosts the country’s growth in a long term. For example, some well-developed places like German, Britain are rare of conflict in society. To achieve social harmony, people should live in a fair and equal environment, which cultivate their respectful attribution. Therefore, since an equality comprehensive welfare system guarantees social equality, this is important for a place to become well-equipped. In summary, with comprehensive social benefits scheme, this brings positive effects in both personal and country levels. If the government do not support public welfare in priority, there is little hope for the future.