Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History is an integral part of a society, and many countries undertake methods to preserve and spruce up their historical figures and monuments. While some individuals believe that authorities should invest more on ancient artworks such as paintings and figures in order to enhance their living standards, others beg to differ. I, however, partially agree with this statement as governments should not dismiss other aspects of their country. In this essay, we shall elaborate on this topic further. Firstly, ancient artworks represent the historical and cultural background of any nation, and thus governments should preserve it. Secondly, it portrays the mindset and creativity of the early settlers; for example, monuments such as Flora Fountain in Mumbai, India illustrates the intricate craftwork, and design during that era, which is seldom practised these days. Thirdly, it educates people about their regions historical background. Lastly, it foments tourism, which eventually increases the economy and employment in those countries. Overall, there are numerous benefits achieved by working on ancient artworks. On the contrary, their other things which government should emphasize on apart from historical figures. Furthermore, higher authorities should handle other sectors such as education; for instance, if more people are educated and knowledgable about history, they can comprehend the significance of these artefacts, and hence will work efficiently in maintaining them. To summarize, there are two sides to a coin; therefore, although the merits of refurbishing artefacts such as paintings and statues are plenty, I believe that countries should give equal importance to other sectors of the society. Nevertheless, it is beneficial for a country to have educated and responsible citizens.