In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that it's indispensable to spend money on building new railway lines for the high-speed trains connecting cities whereas others think it should be spent on the betterment of existing public transport. This essay agrees that improving local transportation is more beneficial to the city people. In my view, travelling can be expensive when there is no rail connection between the cities because flights will be the only way to travel to another town and it is not affordable by everyone as flight rates are dynamic and three times higher than train tickets. So, developing new lines can make travelling accessible and reasonable for everyone. For example, in Europe, it is very economical to explore the cities as there are connecting trains from everywhere. However, public transit is essential and broadly used by the major residents as people commute daily for their work, education and household purposes. By improving that, it will promote to use state transport and not private vehicles for a daily routine and consequently it will help to make eco-friendly environment. For example, there was a survey conducted in Japan and almost 80% to 85% of people use their government transportation services since they are more comfortable and frequently available for their convenience which induces them to travel through that. In conclusion, to spend money on the improvement of existing public transport will serve two purposes of helping people and the environment at the same time seems more worth and necessary rather than spending them on the new railroads for the express trains.