The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the world population has incremented dramatically. Due to which, traffic and transport issues have also increased. It is often debated this problem can be resolved by shifting people to the cities. In my opinion, besides bringing people to cities, there are various other solutions to solve traffic and congestion difficulties. This essay will illustrate both the views in detail. To commence with, by encouraging people to live in cities can reduce traffic issues in various ways. First of all, with more people living in the city, they can walk to their workplace,buying groceries or other nearby areas instead of using their vehicles. This trend can lend a helping hand in reducing congestion on roads. Secondly, more people can use the public transport system available within the city rather than their personal transport. Moreover,by living at near proximity to essential services like hospitals, schools, people can reach their destination in less time which will result in the decrement of vehicles on roads. On the other hand, there are other numerous ways present to get rid of transport problems. Firstly, the government should spend more money on enhancing the transport connectivity of cities to suburbs, countryside or other cities. Because of this, more people can start using public transportation. Moreover, people can be motivated to use bicycles or public transport system by providing subsidies on their prices. Also, the government can introduce some programs to enable people, not to use their vehicles for one day a week or use them on alternative days. For instance, the odd-even program introduced by the Delhi Government has managed to decrease traffic on roads. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that although, by bringing people from countrysides to cities can help to reduce the traffic, however, there are some alternatives present in which people can be enabled to use their private vehicles less. People and governments should join hands to effectively reduce traffic congestion issues.