Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although a section of our society believes that people themselves cannot bring a change to the environment and only the governments can do that, I do not concur with this statement and will provide my point-of-view with examples. On one hand, the people who advocate for the government and the big organizations to take the ownership of improving our biosphere may say so since authority to make decisions is required, which a common person will never have. Moreover, it will be quite challenging for a person to ask a neighbour state to help and work with him. This would be taken up more seriously if two governments, capable of making and executing decisions, talk to each other. For example, The Great Barrier Reef extends from Australia to New Zeland, and even if Australian residents work it out from their side, the problem will never be fully resolved. Hence, the above example supports the view that individuals cannot do anything on their own to help the environment.