Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although a section of our society believes that people themselves cannot bring a change to the environment and only the governments can do that, I do not concur with this statement and opine that everyone including individuals, companies, and the government will have to act jointly for such a big cause. In the essay, I will provide my point-of-view with examples. On one hand, the people who advocate for the government and the big organizations to take ownership of improving our biosphere may say so since authority to make decisions and huge grants are required, which a common person will never have. It will be quite challenging for a person without any rights to ask a neighbour state to help and work with him. This would be taken up more seriously if two governments, capable of making and executing decisions, talk to each other. For example, The Great Barrier Reef extends from Australia to New Zeland, and even if Australian residents work it out from their side, the problem will never be fully resolved. Additionally, any initiative addressing such a massive problem will need grants from the government or corporations only. Hence, the above example supports the view that governments and organizations need to step up to tackle this issue. On the other hand, in my view, we inhabitants can definitely help our ecosystem by means of reducing our carbon footprint and generating less waste. Carbon Dioxide has been blamed for a hole in the ozone layer and is affecting our earth negatively. In order to diminish its effects, one can cut down on car usage and start using public transport for travel. Similarly, people can start focussing on recycling plastic items, producing less garbage. As a result, any small contributions from each of us can have a much bigger impact on saving our environment. In conclusion, despite the authority and funds issue which only large corporations or the state can provide, we must take into consideration the small steps like less dependency on car usage and using recycled products which are quite impactful. In my opinion, everyone including, people, governments, and large companies will have to work together to protect our ecosystem.