Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the Fourth Estate, we can see many online conferences and e-classrooms are being held everyday. This high-tech development brings a lot of benefits but many people still debate on its drawbacks. From my standpoint, although this new type of communication still has some weaknesses, its profits surpass the disadvantages. First of all, it is undoubtedly that online meetings are very convenient and it provides the ability for group communication easier than ever before. The ability of connecting people from any place in the world is very powerful. For instance, with an application installed on a smartphone, an individual can join in an appointment which is hosted thousands of miles away from him. Secondly, the new method helps us saving millions of dollars because it is very economical. To demonstrate this, the budget for an offline conference is much more than an online one because there is no cost for meeting halls and transportations. Furthermore, the time for preparing an e-meeting is usually lesser than a conventional one. As an illustration, the organizers take less time to arrange an online appointment and attendants do not waste their time to move to the conference point. All we have to do is have a PC or a smartphone with an internet connection and join in the meeting everywhere and every time. These benefits have made e-meetings superior to traditional ones especially in the time of pandemic Covid-19 that many countries require their citizens to stay at home. On the other hand, e-meeting also has some drawbacks. On top of all, this type of communication lacks of direct interaction for the reason that attendants only see the lecturers and other viewers through their screens. In the absence of meeting in person, some difficult guiding tasks could not be achieved such as drawing or using a complex instrument. Besides, the quality of the meetings are not as good as conventional ones. As an example, online students do not have enough attention to the lectures and sometimes if the internet connections become slow, attendants could not reach the classes properly. Furthermore, online meetings can be hacked and stolen secret information by anonymous hackers or by the opponents. This risk, however, could be minimized by improving security protection and using prestige e-meeting services. These drawbacks have been in the arguments in many schools and firms and most of the issues can be solved by the advancement of online conferences. To conclude, online conferences and classrooms are new methods of communication which are superior to the conventional techniques. Despite the fact that traditional appointments still have several benefits in some cases, they could be supplanted by the new methods because the disadvantages of e-conferences can be settled by the advancement of technology.