Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, travelling has become a challenge in some countries due to jamming. Some opine that it is the duty of the administration to spend more on establishing more train and metro routes to avoid blockages. However, the others firmly state that increasing the lane maps would be more rewarding. In my opinion, the requirements of the masses need to be considered and cheap and affordable trains can be initiated on multiple routes. Investing in providing various routes for trains and subway to curb traffics in cities is a great initiative taken by the government. Most people commute to their workplaces using public transports because of everyday travel during peak hours. For instance, people in metropolitan cities in India find it difficult to reach distant places in the rush hours. Even short distances would take more than double-time. Thus, these trains and metros save time and help the cities from congestion. However, some believe that by widening the roads and constructing more pathways would be beneficial in keeping a check on the road congestion. Wider the roads, more would be the space for the vehicles to pass, resulting in fewer jams and accidents. The government can also develop highways and flyovers to avoid any jams during the busy hours, it would also keep the passage smooth. For example, there are a plethora of flyovers and pathways in Russia, thus, the news regarding the traffic jams or road accidents is less heard of. Thus, creating more space for on-road conveyance would save the cities from honking and creating havoc. To conclude, the government must work in accordance with the demands of citizens. In my perspective, busy cities ought to have subways and trains because they are public transports and are cheap and affordable. Furthermore, they would also help in increasing the revenue of the nation. On the other hand, by constructing new roads and pathways, the people would incline towards buying new cars, thus creating pollution and accidents.