Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that any cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars.

A globally increasing trend for buying cars is getting unprecedented in the last three decades, leading to massive traffic congestion. I believe this is true, and the Government should take steps to curb this frustrating situation, such as widening the road with a specific lane for emergency vehicles. Traffic congestion is ubiquitous worldwide because many people buy cars to commute to their destination in less time. Even though travelling by car is time-efficient, it causes enormous traffic jams in many metropolitan cities. As a result, those in extreme need got delayed such as patients to the hospital by ambulance and fire bridge to rescue the people and property. According to survey reports, in various densely populated cities like Beijing and Mumbai, nearly 30% of people lose their lives in ambulances due to massive traffic jams during peak hours. In my opinion, traffic jams must be overcome by the appropriate measures taken by the Government. Widening the road by enough and specifying the lanes for emergency vehicles can be the better option. The responsible Government officials should prioritize their focus on constructing and widening the streets with enough lanes. As a result, ambulances and fire vans reach their required destination without any obstruction and will save precious human lives and properties timely. In conclusion, the uprising trend of buying private cars leads to traffic jams. This traffic congestion can put human life at risk by obstructing ambulances; therefore, I believe the widened road construction with emergency vehicle lanes specification may solve this problem rather than discourage people from buying cars.