Computers and modems have made it possible for office workers to do much of their work from home instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraging as it is good for both employers and workers. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Technology is an ever-evolving aspect of human life. There have been giant leaps made in wireless communication and semiconductor technology that allows employees to accomplish their tasks from their maisonette rather than commuting to their job all year.I agree, In this essay,we will go through the two main reasons to show that it is cheaper and better to slog online rather than on-site. Firstly, there has been a move toward the virtual with the advent of high-speed internet because it allows for effective use of space if people accomplish goals regardless of their location. Employers always look for cost savings and what can be done to increase profits in their yearly quarter. Working remotely from home allows employees to maximise productivity and be cost-effective which becomes a zero-sum game to the employers. For example, Verizon employees are instructed to stay at their domicile three days in a week and submit all their findings on the companies private cloud network which was seen to improve productivity by 25 per cent. Thus there has been a noticeable move toward working at home because of the overhead savings and minutes saved from commuting to and from the office. Secondly, worker satisfaction is something corporations seldom think about. Because of the sudden advocacy for job life balance, there was a move toward staggered days. This saw that people only worked 3 to 4 days in a week at the office and spent the rest of the week at their townhouses continuing their task online by attending online meetings and submitting their efforts to an online repository from a place of comfort. For example, Walgreens promoted balanced living and provided the phone help desk employees with the option of setting up their offices at home. Therefore, we see a marked reduction in the stress of the employees and the sheer convenience of it makes it an alluring option. In conclusion, with the invention of laptops and optical fibre technology you can communicate with the push of a button. This essay showed that remote jobs offer the possibility of getting tasks done and allowing space to spend a few hours with their families which would not usually be possible due to travel fatigue. In my opinion, virtual positions do offer a sense of comfort for the worker and a decrease in expenses for management which makes it a great idea.