Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In today's world, sales of mainstream consumables are constantly on the rise. However, one of the highly controversial issues relates to whether advertising is what boosts the sales of goods. It is agreed that high expenditures on consumer products in some societies are a result of powerful advertising instead of actual needs. Analyzing consumer’s impulsive and unreasonable purchasing habits will prove this. Firstly, advertising agencies have become extremely clever in convincing people to buy certain products. They might be even using subliminal messages to convince consumers subconsciously to buy products they may not really want. People often have this opinion because many of them are making purchases that simply do not reflect any of their personal or household needs. For example, a non-formal study in the USA revealed that 30% of the goods bought by an average American household was not necessary. Therefore, this makes it clear that it is the influence of marketing that lead people to make reckless purchases. Secondly, advertisements can certainly tempt people to buy products they most likely do not need. For instance, every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest mobile phone models. Even though they already have a perfectly good phone that does not need replacing, they are lured by catchy commercials to stay up to date with the fashion of owning the newest high-status mobile device. Thus, it becomes apparent that irrational spending is probably caused by appealing advertising techniques. In conclusion, influential marketing messages is what drives people to buy products they do not actually need or want. Therefore, high sale rates in certain countries are the result of a strong advertising campaign rather than actual requirements.