Some children find mathematics and philosophy difficult. Some people think these subjects should be optional. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most hated subjects at school, without doubt, is math. It might be either because the basic foundation was not well learned during the first year of classes or because the teacher only taught the formulas and made the students memorize them, without giving further explanations. The same feeling applies to philosophy, which the students must memorize famous philosophers and their ideas. But without giving further information about why did they think that way, or what context brought those thinking, it is almost impossible to accept and understand their thoughts. Due to the difficulties mentioned before, some people believe it is better to make this subjects optional, instead of mandatory. I totally disagree with this, because these two subjects teach the class how to think and interpreter new ideas and how they can be better adults! For example, math is the basic and most important subject that everybody must understand in order to become citizens and consumers. It is impossible to imagine a world without math, even the simplest recipe or the irrelevant act of shopping for food involves calculus. Once they learn how to read and understand what the is asking, and how to apply the correct formula to solve it, they will end up liking it. When it comes to philosophy, the teachers are showing their class how to think "outside the box", according to different points of views. This could be a challenge, the youngsters are not used to think critically or to create their own ideas, they prefer to have everything explained to them, following the idea of "the easiest way, the better". To conclude, in my opinion, both mathematics and philosophy, must be kept as mandatory courses at school, once they help the children and teenagers to think and see problems from a different perspective. These institutions are raising the future citizens and it is their duty to teach them how they can solve problems and have their own opinion.