In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, scientific research has been sponsored for and done by private firms more than governmental organizations. In my opinion, in spite of some undeniable benefits, this trend has had more adverse effects on the outcome of these research. From my perspective, the lack of solid co-operation between non-governmental and governmental parties have led to a conflict and inconsistency in utilizing the resources. It is true that with the involvement of private companies, there will be less burden in terms of finance and human resources on the governmental research departments. However, without the management of the government, one research topic can be conducted by many private stakeholders at the same time. This means despite being rich, these mentioned resources are not increasing productivity of the scientific research, in contrast, being wasted. Another reason why I believe depending on private companies for research payment and conduction is not an optimal option is that the scale of these research can be limited. A company can have a wide network with local or global partners in order to help in different stages of researching. However, the headers of a country have more trust from their citizens and numbers of international relationships; which helps them have more advantages when implementing research. For example, a researching process may include many attendants with their consent, in this case, people would find indications from the government are more trust-worthy than from a private firm; which lead to a higher chance of agreement and participation. All in all, organizations from a private sector may face obstacles during conducting the research. To conclude, because of the inefficiency caused by the investment in researching from the private sector, I concur that the negative impacts outweigh the benefits.