Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In present-day society, there is a common view that universities ought to offer graduates knowledge and skills required in careers. At the same time, however, others believe that universities need to play a role in providing corresponding knowledge based on their educational aims. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, graduates can prepare themselves well if they learn the knowledge and skills required before entering the workplace. To be specific, students equip themselves with practical capabilities, like social skills, mastery of computer software, collection and analysis of information, etc. This preparation will reduce the possibility of mistakes they will make in future careers, which enables them to smoothly transit from a university student to a professional employee. Besides, graduates do not need to spare one gap year to gain working knowledge or develop talents and they will be more confident to take their positions without concern about their incapability. What's more, this confidence also helps them handle difficulties or pressure they may face during the work. However, it is not proper for universities to provide access to these working expertise or capabilities. First of all, universities have their own responsibilities of educating students in terms of literature, history, law, finance, etc. The contents of these subjects is the pre-requisite of developing skills. Furthermore, universities may not give professional working training or students. This is because requirements vary for different positions. For instance, the position of a project manager requires coordination, communication, the ability to resolve issues, etc. This scenario cannot be anticipated or realized in universities. Hence, universities cannot give students chances to develop talents by creating such an environment, where working experience is accumulated in reality. To summarise, universities cannot bear the responsibility of offering students working knowledge and skills in terms of their role and profession, even though it is beneficial for students' career prospect. It is recommended that students improve their working talents through internships or work.