People after retirement often require financial assistance. Should the government be responsible for this or should the individuals make provisions for themselves? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a known fact that retired individuals need some monetary support to maintain and sustain their lives. Some people are of the opinion that the financial responsibility should be the duty of the government while others are of the view that the persons concerned should bear the burden. Personally, I think both the government and the people involved should play their parts. While the policymakers make pension and gratuity available promptly the employees should go extra miles by having consistent saving and investment while still working. On one hand, it is expected of the administrators or the employers in any workplace to make provisions for retirement benefits of their employees after they have faithfully served and completed the term of office. Knowing full well that this is their entitlement, which includes pension and gratuity, for their unique contributions to the upliftment of the establishment. Be as it may, they should be renumerated appropriately to avoid unnecessary suffering. For instance, there have been reports of the elderly population in some developing countries waiting for almost a decade before they could assess their entitlement and the unfortunate thing is that some may even die in the process. Therefore, employment authorities need to give attention to prompt payment of financial aids to seniors. On the other hand, it is very expedient for persons in active service to make proper planning for the future by cultivating a disciplined saving and investment culture. Understanding the inability of the administrators to attend to several needs of increasing population because the resources are very scarce. The working-class group should prepare now that they have means to do so by engaging in some business activities and boost their income. There was an instance of an old professor, who was sent out of the university quarters after his retirement unfortunately, he had no personal accommodation. This would have been avoided if he had made plans before then. To sum it up, the government has a significant role in making sure retiree live comfortably after their dedicated years of labour but most importantly, it is an obligation for those working at the moment to make adequate plans for the uncertainty of the future.