In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly considered that the future of communication will be via online only and this trend is growing rapidly. Many usually prefer to use technology while communicating while some are still comfortable more with face to face mode. According to my opinion, online chats or video calls have more pros than it's cons. To begin with, with the help of technology we can save plenty of our time and that was not possible with the orthodox mode of communication. To elaborate, we do not need to travel to our workplaces and also do not have to maintain a strict schedule. Moreover, we can do multitasking at the same time while listening to others' discussion and that can increase our productivity. For example, for me, while joining meetings online, I can save almost two hours per day and I can use that for increasing my work output. Overall, usually for everyone, it can save precious time. Moving on to the other advantages, online communication is helping our environment in an indirect way. To simplify, when we are talking virtually, then we do not need to commute and that helps in a great way to ease traffic flow. Additionally, we do not need to use our cars and by doing that we can also save our precious fossil fuel and reduce the carbon footprints. On top of that, in those giant tech parks where more than thousands of the employees were working, most of them could operate in low power mode because most of the employees could work from their respective homes with the help of online meetings and that could help to decrease electricity and water consumption. For instance, the traffic density and amount of the CO2 are decreased rapidly in my neighbourhood and the environment becomes clearer than ever and indeed it is a great achievement. To conclude, there may be some disadvantages to the virtual conversation, but personally, I believe that advantages weigh more. I would suggest that the organizations should consider stressing on talking over the internet rather than the old ways of communication.