Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In this concurrent world, it is undoubtedly true that piracy has become inevitable. It is widely believed that illegal sites pirating songs has becoming a major threat to the music industry and to prevent such damages, several measures have to be taken. However, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe these sites help the listeners to access free music, while also providing fame for new composers. Music has become a part of everyone's life. Nowadays it costs a lot to genuinely purchase a record or a CD on the market. Hence, the demand for illegal sites has increased. That is, these sites illegally pirate a hit album or a song and release it through their website, and allows their users to listen songs. This benefits listeners as they can hear as many songs as they can without spending a dime. Examples of such music sites are Youtube, Piratebay, Soundcloud. These sites allow their users to browse from thousands of music collections for free. These sites attract a large number of youth, which helps new composers to gain popularity among them. In reality people show less interest in buying albums from fresh faces. This is because, music companies do not spend money on advertisements to promote new talent. Hence, newcomers allow their songs to be on the illegal sites in a hope of receiving recognition from a million users. For instance, famous singer Ariana Grande has become popular by allowing her songs to be shared across pirated sites. Now she is one of the top singers in the world. This essay discussed the reasons on how illegal sites can help the music industry grow. In my opinion, such illegal sites act as a platform to showcase one's talent, and also creates an interest in listeners by providing free access. These actions are comparatively helpful for the music industry to grow huge.