Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Owing to the rapid developments being made in the science stream not only trade has developed but also innovations are easily available. A group of people opine that merchandize has become an important part of an individual’s life, while others deem that this notion has its demerits. I believe that it has myriad advantages as compared to its disadvantages. I will substantiate my views along with an example in the following paragraphs. With the advent of technology and ease in trading policies more and more items are easily available. First of all, by purchasing cell phones people can communicate better, this not only good for staying in touch with kith and kin but also in staying connected for office personals. In addition to this, by purchasing gadgets our life neither becomes boring nor dull. Secondly, by increasing the consumer goods we make our life not only salubrious but it also helps in saving time and energy. For example, by purchasing items online using a modern gadget we not only save time and money but also save our energy and feel less stressed. Although purchasing goods has advantages it also has a few disadvantages. With the increase in sales, import increases which affect the economy of a nation. Moreover, due to the purchase of these items people are becoming more materialistic and narrow-minded. Following this, the younger generation prefers to stay isolated and lonely which leads to other medical problems. Furthermore, as more and more items are being manufactured not only pollution has started to increase but also the raw materials needed are about to be exhausted. To illustrate, according to a report by the United Nations the pollution in developing countries has developed by 20%. To recapitulate, as people have preferred a sedentary lifestyle and have increased the purchase of luxurious goods this has affected their health and behavioural patterns. But, it has many pros than cons so I believe that this trend is good for the citizens.