Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person level of experience and knowledge but also their personality . Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

In the era of 21st century, the process of recruitment has changed drastically. Many organization go beyond the quality of intelligence and experience to select a candidate and they emphasize on many other characteristics. Furthermore, people consider leadership as natural characteristics and I totally agree with it. To begin with, leadership is one of the most important characteristics of the organization. This skill is naturally available in any individual and I do not think it can be developed as other skills. Moreover, it can be nurtured into a more efficient skill by taking mentoring from a person or broadening the thinking, but it cannot be developed if a person does not have it. For example, Sachin Tendulkar is considered as the god of cricket, but he failed when it came to captaining the team. Thus, we say that, a person is born with leadership skill. On the other hand, for the role of manager, human resource manager screen at many different facets of candidates. These features can be problem-solving, being excellent in his craft, time management skill and most significant people management attribute. For instance, administrator's main role is to take the optimum output from his employees or people working under him and that is the reason why people management skills have more weightage compared to other skills while selecting a candidate for the role of administrator. To conclude, there are various qualities an employer wants in his employees, but managing people will be of utmost importance. In addition, direction skill is natural and it cannot be cultivated as other skills