In some time countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Usually finishing high school represent an important moment in our life because is the time when you decide who you wanna become, what path you want to take, where you wanna go, and most of that decisions are influenced by our beliefs, family and society´s norms. That is why in some countries, as the argument mention, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year before they start their university ´s studies. I believe is important to understand all the arists of taking this advice. First of all, if someone decide to take a year gap because he or she doesn´t know which career to choose. It will be a great decision to travel, because you will have the opportunity to learn about different cultures, expanding your view of the world, and in that journey you could probably find yourself and your propose of living and choose a wise decision regarding their career. Another good point is that if you take a year to work because you do not have the money to travel, it could be a great opportunitie for saving money and start university with less worries about your economic future, also you could probably treat yourself to a nice restaurant with tasty foods, new gadgets, etc. On the other hand, if you take a year,in a sense, you will "lose" time because people who decide to start right away will finish university earlier and place themselves in the work environment than a person who took a year gap. Also, start the university right after finishing high school could make the process of learning easier because you´ll adapt to the rythm of study faster than the others. Another point is that in an ideal situation if the person manage to catch a job right after finishing university and continue to work for 20 years more they will end working one year earlier than the other human who decide to take a year gap. To summarize, studying right afert high school could have their great points like finishing university earlier and place yourself at work younger than the others. However taking a year gap to work or travel could be a great idea to find your real propose in life if you do not what to do with your life or saving extra money to buy fancy stuff. I believe that in the end the decission of taking a year gap of not will depend of your needs, personally I think that travel to find what you really want to do with your life is the best decission.