Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some companies that outer appearance of an employee is really important, while others argue with this and think that the working quality above smartly dressed employees. In my opinion, the quality of work and smart appearance both are necessary for employees depending on what type of job they are required to do. To commence with the outlook of an employee, it is really important for those who need to contact customers physically. In other words, a job holder who does not have the necessity to keep in touch with his clients in person does not have to dress smartly in his workplace. For example, radio jockeys job does not require them to look good rather they are supposed to sound good, which has no connection with dressing handsomely. In contrast, other professionals such as engineers, doctors etc. should appear nicely in front of their clients and patients respectively. On the other hand, the capability of working hard is the most important issue for any professional and one has to work hard for himself and the betterment of his organization. Moreover, someone can be extremely beneficiary for his company for his working qualification, although he might not be able to dress appropriately. For instance, researches have proven that almost 45% of the most talented employees of a renowned organization are from below poverty line, thus it is hard for them to dress smartly. In addition to that, the working ability of a person has a great value in workspaces in comparison to looking nice. In my opinion, though most of the companies need hard workers, there are some professions that required the physical appearance of people as well. Therefore, it is the duty of companies to hire employees accordingly. To conclude, quality of work is the basic requirement of a jobholder but physical outlook or dressing sense is also important for some. Hence, people should be employed in accordance with the requirement of their jobs.