The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, technological advancements have revolutionised the way of shopping. More people are resorting to the idea of ordering online which may lead to local shops closing. I agree with the point raised and will discuss the benefits of acquiring products and services through the internet in the following essay with an apt example. Nowadays, with the touch of a button, a person can order anything online. That was not the case a decade ago. Individuals had to travel long distances to malls and local markets to purchase and select items. It has all become easy with the introduction of internet mediums and a plethora of options to choose from. For instance, websites like eBay, IKEA and myntra offer festive days for shopping with heavy discounts and a huge inventory to select from. The latter is further aided with quick delivery services like one-day delivery options which allow customers to get the product the next day. Moreover, along with the designated service, they also offer easy return policies which allow the consumer to return the products if they don't like after buying. Nevertheless, this has further led to brands shutting down shops in complexes as they have to pay huge rent and staff salaries to their employees whereas, the entire process is automated through the internet. For example, the idea has resulted in huge multinational chains such as Zara or H&M to move their business operations online and enjoy the benefit of maintaining their stores offline. Secondly, a number of logistic companies taking advantage of this opportunity by expanding their fleet of vehicles to benefit through this issue. To conclude, the world is moving from the old-fashioned idea of visiting stores in Malls to ordering online at their convenience as it saves both time and money for ordinary citizens and promotes globalization and accessibility of products from all part of the world.