Many parents complain about violence promoted to their children through video games, TV programs and other media. Why is happening? What can be the solution for it?

Nowadays it is common to see parents worrying about the education of their children; therefore there is a concern about inappropriate content such as violence showed in most media, games and TV programs. To understand why is this happening and what can be done it is not simple and some considerations should be made. Firstly, one of the main reasons that explain why this is happening is because the entertainment industry uses violence, which is one of our most primitive instinct to attract youngster. Therefore, once they are exposed to that sort of content the addiction becomes intense. Some research conducted by a group of scientists in the United States showed that 73 per cent of children who play video games frequently feel more attracted to violent games and play it on a regular basis. The solution might be related to control children's leisure time. Parents should establish what content their child should be exposed and what they shouldn't. Introducing sports and other activities connected to music, art or education instead of letting them use their free time watching TV or playing violent video games has been proved to be useful. For instance, an article published by Mother and Child Magazine has supported the fact that children who have their leisure activities managed by their parents were less likely to consume violent content not only in video games but also on the internet. To conclude, the violence promoted by general media and games is a real problem faced by parents in these days. The entertainment industry uses violent content to attract children, therefore one of the solutions for it regards parents controlling children's activities closer.