Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A certain group of people are of the opine that new houses and buildings should be designed and constructed with modern style and technologies. While some feels feel that new houses should be constructed with the same design as old ones. This essay agrees with the former view. The rapid development in technology has led to more efficient and better construction materials. While solar rooftops and rainwater harvesting, for instance, were not needed in earlier centuries, they have become a necessity in the modern era in order to reduce the carbon footprint. Moreover, people tend to indulge in the latest trends and designs to fulfil their desires and their preference. A house becomes a home when it is a haven for emotions, memories and happiness. For instance, the Japanese people, love living in traditional homes while the Americans live in a residence with the latest technology. The preferences of these different cultures should be respected in home design. One the other hand, a diversity of designs distorts the uniformity of landscape in a city. Uniformity of houses is aesthetically appealing for everyone. For example, cities like Chandigarh allow the same style for every house and this has become the heritage of the city. More importantly, this helps governments serve people better. A uniform layout helps fire-fighting services to douse the fire easily since they have an idea of each home’s design. Also, this prevents people from designing homes that are not environmentally sustainable. All homes are constructed to meet the government’s architectural requirements for reducing the electricity requirement and water recycling. In conclusion, though building homes in the same style enables uniformity, it makes a city’s landscape bland and uninteresting. I believe every homeowner should be allowed to build a home to suit his tastes and preferences so that all family members can enjoy their abode. Forcing them to construct a government pattern will be equivalent to living in a forced enclosure.