In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Major crimes rates have been decreasing in some countries, but citizens feel more insecure than before. One of the main causes of this issue are fake news and a possible solution to this is to educate people to verify the source of any information. Social networks are the main source of fake news leading people to misinformation. Fake news are those contents that seem to be real but they only are created to confuse people and make them feel bad and sometimes scared. Many people receive a lot of information about any subjects, but especially bad news. This results in anger and outrage from citizens to the government making them feel unprotected and fearful about their security. For example, in many Latin American countries, fakes news are in every social network dividing people's feelings and making them against the government, despite those news are not true. One of the ways the government can reduce these feelings is by promoting massive campaigns to encourage people to verify the source of any news that they see. Verifying the source is something that people avoid to do because is very easy for them to share the information without making a previous research. For example, a recent research of Harvard University found that in most of the non-developed countries, people tend to share fake news because they are not taught to verify this information before. In conclusion, to reduce citizens' insecurities despite crimes rates are decreasing, is necessary for the government to promote the education of how they can verify the information to know if it is fake or real.