Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, many farmers and food manufacturers use food -additives, preservatives and pesticides to produce and store foodstuff. There is no doubt that these chemicals are harmful to the human body. In this essay, we will discuss how dangerous effects outweigh the benefits of using these substances. The chemicals used in consumer products help farmers and producers to improve sales and profit from their products. Some food products change their original appearance as a result of technological processing, storage and packaging. Thus, colourings and flavourings are used to make foodstuff look more presentable, tempting to eat, and encouraging customers to buy. If the finished product is released without the use of a dye, for example in sausages, its appearance may cause mistrust and lack of demand for the product among the consumers. Another reason for using artificial substances is food preservation. Adding preservatives can allow sellers to keep the item on the counter longer. For instance, some natural products, such as dairy products, cannot be stored for a long time without additives, meaning that they can stay longer in stores and supermarkets. However, all the aforementioned benefits are for companies, not for customers. Suppliers claim that food with chemical additives is safe, and they cite scientific evidence as proof. Nevertheless, that evidence is possibly biased as the research has been conducted by their own companies, or by people who are connected to those companies. Moreover, very often the press publishes facts that some artificial additives have toxic and dangerous effects on the human body. Very often medical authorities report about possible links of chemical substances with cancers and that they may cause side effects, such as allergic reactions or other health issues. Scientific research proved that some of those chemical substances have a carcinogenic effect. In conclusion, despite that the placing of chemicals in food fas benefits, I am convinced that it helps companies, but is possibly dangerous for individuals. All those harmful effects on people prevail over the advantages and unfortunately, this practice will unlikely be stopped.